Assessor  |   County Clerk  |   Court Clerk  |   District Attorney  |   District 1  |   District 2  |   District 3  |   Sheriff  |   Treasurer

COMMISSIONERS, Oklahoma County

Each county in Oklahoma is divided into three districts, as equal in population as possible, with one Commissioner elected from each district and by the people. The three-member Board of County Commissioners serve as the administrative body of the County with general supervision over all fiscal affairs.


The Board of County Commissioners, created by the State Constitution, is composed of three Commissioners elected by the people. The County is divided into three districts, as equal in population as possible and numbered 1, 2, and 3 respectively. One Commissioner is elected from each district. District boundaries are set once every 10 years following the federal census. View the updated district boundaries (PDF) that become effective October 1, 2001.


  • Supervise and manage all real estate owned by the County. The Board maintains the Courthouse, County Office Building, Investors Capital Building, County Jail, Human Services Center, Juvenile Center, Extension Center, a parking garage, and three highway maintenance offices.
  • Advertise for bids on major County purchases and award all contracts.
  • Approve all claims covering materials, supplies, or services purchased by all County offices and paid for by County funds.
  • Call all County bond elections.
  • Designate, construct, maintain, and repair all County highways and bridges.
  • Through the Department of Social Services, provide pharmacy services and prescription medicines, emergency food vouchers, indigent burials, ambulance service, medical services, temporary housing and convalescent care, and job training for the indigent, destitute, and unemployable County residents. It also helps coordinate the federal Food Stamp program.
  • Pass on all zoning applications and regulations of the County Planning Commission. (One member of the Board serves on the Planning Commission.)
  • Conduct proceedings, set date of election, canvass returns, and issue Order of Incorporation of all towns and/or cities in the County.
  • Audit the accounts of all County offices.
  • Publish in a County newspaper a complete report of the official proceedings of all meetings of the Board.
  • Appoint one member of the County Excise Board and Board of Equalization.


The Board meets first and third Monday of each month at 9:00 am (except for when a Monday falls on a holiday, the Board of County Commissioners will meet on Tuesday of that week) or on special occasions. The Board may set special meetings on 48 hours notice. All sessions are open to the public and held in observance of the Oklahoma Open Meeting Act

Agendas & Minutes


At the first meeting of the Board every January, the Commissioners elect one of the current Commissioners to serve as Chairman for that calendar year. The Chairman's primary duty is to preside at the meetings of the Board. The Chairman is also one of two officers that may sign checks (known as "warrants") issued by the County Treasurer.